Visa-free travel for Ukraine may be signed in European Parliament May 17 – source

The signing ceremony of granting Ukraine a visa-free regime may be held in the European Parliament (EP) on May 17, a source close to the EP said, an UNIAN correspondent in Brussels reported.

The ceremony will take place in Strasbourg in the framework of the plenary session of the EP, which will be held on May 15-18.

It is expected that the EU Council will approve the granting of a visa-free regime at the meeting of the Council for Agriculture and Fisheries on May 11.

After signing, the legislative act must be published in the Official Journal of the European Union and will enter into force in 20 days.

Earlier, the European Parliament on April 6 upheld the European Commission`s decision to grant Ukraine a visa-free regime.

On April 26, the Committee of Permanent Representatives of the EU member states (COREPER) supported the move to grant the Ukrainians a visa-free travel across the EU.

Avatar photo


An independent media focused on Ukraine.
Follow us on social media:

Submit a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

Share This

Share this post with your friends!