Nine G20 countries did not support anti-Russian sanctions

According to a Bloomberg article published on August 5, only half of the G20 countries have joined the sanctions against the Russian Federation, imposed because of its war against Ukraine.

Source: Bloomberg journalists

“Comprising nations that account for some 85% of global economic output, the G-20 is supposed to be more reflective of the world. Yet only half its number has joined the international sanctions imposed on fellow member Russia over its invasion of Ukraine.”

It is indicated that the G7 countries were more decisive than the G20 in the matter of imposing sanctions, and the biggest refusal is China.

“Xi joined hands with Putin and declared a “no limits” friendship just weeks before Russia invaded Ukraine. China’s outlays on Russian oil have soared since the war’s outbreak — it spent 72% more on Russian energy purchases in June from a year earlier.”

The publication notes that most of the world’s countries are not ready to support the efforts of the USA and the EU to isolate the Russian Federation and Putin.

Sanctions against Russia are not supported by:

  • Brazil;
  • China;
  • Indonesia;
  • South Africa;
  • India;
  • Turkey;
  • Saudi Arabia;
  • Argentina;
  • Mexico.

See also: Russia has found a new way to bypass oil sanctions

Avatar photo


An independent media focused on Ukraine.
Follow us on social media:

Submit a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

Share This

Share this post with your friends!