Baltic and Northern European countries promised to support Ukraine and increase pressure on Russia

Estonia, Finland, Iceland, Latvia, Lithuania, Norway and Sweden promise to provide further economic, military, and humanitarian support to Ukraine, and strengthen sanctions against the Russian Federation. This is stated in the joint statement of the Ministers of Foreign Affairs of these countries following their visit to Kyiv on November 28, 2022.

Source: The Ministers of Foreign Affairs of Estonia, Finland, Iceland, Latvia, Lithuania, Norway, Sweden 

“Since the beginning of Russia’s full-scale invasion, the Nordic and Baltic states have provided substantial political, economic, military and humanitarian support to Ukraine. We will continue working together in providing political and practical support to ensure Ukraine’s ability to defend its independence and territorial integrity,” noted the Ministers of Foreign Affairs of Estonia, Finland, Iceland, Latvia, Lithuania, Norway, and Sweden.

The Ministers emphasized that their countries would never recognize the illegal attempt to annex Ukrainian territories, including Crimea, and confirmed joint efforts to further strengthen activities aimed at achieving the liberation of Crimea.

“Russia’s aggression has caused immense suffering to the people of Ukraine. It has triggered a humanitarian catastrophe and several million people have been displaced. Russia alone bears responsibility for this. States knowingly aiding or assisting another State in the commission of internationally wrongful acts bear international responsibility for doing so. We condemn in the strongest terms Russia’s attacks against civilians and critical infrastructure, including energy facilities, aiming at terrorizing the civilian population. These attacks on civilians constitute war crimes,” explained the Foreign Ministers.

Ministers called on Russia to release Ukrainian civilians illegally deported and detained on political grounds, as well as that taken hostage during the full-scale invasion of Ukraine.

The Foreign Ministers also condemned Russia’s occupation of Ukraine’s Zaporizhzhia Nuclear Power Plant and attacks on nuclear facilities in Ukraine.

“We agree on the need to continue to impose economic costs on Russia and on other countries, individuals or entities providing support for Moscow’s war of aggression. We reiterate the necessity to strengthen sanctions on Russia and to ensure that the measures are strong and efficient,” said the Foreign Ministers.

See also: Foreign Ministers of 7 Northern European countries arrived in Kyiv

Avatar photo


An independent media focused on Ukraine.
Follow us on social media:

Submit a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

Share This

Share this post with your friends!