8 countries joined the EU sanctions against Russia

Eight European countries have joined the decision of the European Union on personal sanctions against individuals in connection with Russia’s military aggression against Ukraine. This is noted in the statement of the Council of the European Union on January 23, 2023.

Source: European Council

“The candidate countries North Macedonia, Montenegro, Albania, Ukraine, and Bosnia and Herzegovina2 and the EFTA countries Iceland, Liechtenstein and Norway, members of the European Economic Area, align themselves with this Council Decision adopted on September 14, 2022,” noted the European Council.

On September 14, 2022, the Council of the EU extended the sanctions against 1,206 individuals and 108 legal entities, most of whom were restricted in response to Russia’s unjustified and unprovoked military aggression against Ukraine, for six months — until March 15, 2023.

In addition, on February 24, 2023, the anniversary of Russia’s full-scale invasion of Ukraine, the 10th package of EU sanctions against Russia may enter into force.

See also: Ukraine calls on the world to introduce sanctions against Russian nuclear industry

Avatar photo


An independent media focused on Ukraine.
Follow us on social media:

Submit a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

Share This

Share this post with your friends!