United States expands sanctions against Russia

The United States has adopted sanctions against three more Russian banks – VTB, Bank of Moscow and Russian Agricultural Bank, as well as the United Shipbuilding Corporation, a Ukrinform correspondent has reported, with reference to the website of the U.S. Treasury Department.
The sanctions on the three banks prohibit U.S. citizens or companies from dealing with debt carrying maturities longer than 90 days, or with new equity.
Restrictive measures against the shipbuilding company freeze any assets it may hold in the United States and prohibit all U.S. transactions with it.
“If Russia continues on its current path, the cost on Russia will continue to grow,” U.S. President Barack Obama said at a briefing at the White House.
As reported, on July 16, the U.S. tightened economic sanctions against Russia, introducing restrictions in the defense, financial and energy sectors.
The United States, as well as the EU, also banned exports of equipment and technology for the Russian energy sector and imposed an embargo on trade in arms.

30.07.2014 10:08

Avatar photo

News and Summaries

Submit a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

Share This

Share this post with your friends!