: :inin Kyiv (EET)

Poroshenko enacts Savchenko-Sentsov List

Ukrainian President Petro Poroshenko has enacted a resolution by the National Security and Defense Council (NSDC) of Ukraine on special economic and other restrictive measures (sanctions) against individuals involved in illegal actions against Nadia Savchenko, Oleh Sentsov and Oleksandr Kolchenko, or the so-called Savchenko-Sentsov List, according to the presidential administration.
The president signed relevant decree No. 121/2016 prior to his visit to the United States, where he departed on Wednesday.
Under the decision, the Cabinet of Ministers, the Security Service of Ukraine and the National Bank of Ukraine must ensure the monitoring of the efficiency of the sanctions.
Ukraine`s Ministry of Foreign Affairs must inform respective authorities in the European Union, the United States and other states for them to consider the possibility of imposing similar sanctions.
The Cabinet of Ministers and the Security Service of Ukraine must elaborate proposals on the application of similar sanctions regarding persons involved in illegal actions against other Ukrainian citizens and submit them to the NSDC within two weeks.
The decree takes effect from the date of publication.
The sanctions are imposed on 84 individuals, whose names and positions, along with justification for the application of the sanctions and their type, are listed in an enclosed annex.
The Savchenko-Sentsov List consists of citizens of Russia and Ukraine, including judges, prosecutors and investigators involved in the unlawful criminal cases against Savchenko, Sentsov and Kolchenko.
On the list is Russian citizen, Chairman of the Investigative Committee of Russia Alexander Bastrykin, who will be refused entry into Ukraine. Also, sanctions in the form of freezing assets will be applied against him.
Similar sanctions will be in effect against the following Russian citizens: Russia`s Federal Security Service Chief, General Alexander Bortnikov and de facto prosecutor of Crimea Natalia Poklonskaya.
The Ukrainian citizens who are also to be subject to the sanctions include former leader of an illegal armed formation of the self-proclaimed Luhansk People`s Republic (LPR) Valeriy Bolotov and leader of an illegal armed formation of the LPR Igor Plotnitsky. They face assets freezing, temporary restrictions on the right to use their property, and other limitations.


Submit a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This

Share this post with your friends!