: :inin Kyiv (EET)

EP Committee votes for visa waivers for Ukraine

The European Parliament`s Committee on Civil Liberties, Justice and Home Affairs has voted for the wording of a legislative act on a visa-free regime for Ukraine that was agreed upon in the framework of inter-institutional negotiations, according to an UNIAN correspondent in Brussels.

The voting took place at a Committee meeting in Brussels on Thursday, March 9.

The decision was supported by 39 Committee members, while four voted against it and one abstained.

The wording of the legislative act was agreed upon following the trialogue and sealed in a letter of the General Secretariat of the Council of the European Union of March 3.

The act is titled ”Proposal for a Regulation of the European Parliament and of the Council amending Regulation (EC) No 539/2001 listing the third countries whose nationals must be in possession of visas when crossing the external borders and those whose nationals are exempt from that requirement (Ukraine).”

Now the document should be put to the vote at a European Parliament plenary session.

Earlier, EU ambassadors on March 2, 2017, confirmed, on behalf of the Council of the European Union, the informal agreement reached on February 28, 2017, between the Maltese Presidency and the European Parliament on visa liberalization for Ukrainians.


Submit a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This

Share this post with your friends!