42 countries called on Russia to withdraw its troops from Ukraine’s Zaporizhzhia nuclear plant

The European Union and forty-two countries issued a joint statement on August 14, 2022, calling on Russia to immediately withdraw its troops from Ukraine’s Zaporizhzhia nuclear power plant and the entire territory of Ukraine.

Source: The website of the EU delegation to international organizations in Vienna

“We urge the Russian Federation to immediately withdraw its military forces and all other unauthorised personnel from the Zaporizhzhia Nuclear Power Plant, its immediate surroundings, and all of Ukraine so that the operator and the Ukrainian authorities can resume their sovereign responsibilities within Ukraine’s internationally recognized borders and the legitimate operating staff can conduct their duties without outside interference, threat, or unacceptably harsh working conditions.”

This statement is issued on behalf of Australia, Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Canada, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Georgia, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Japan, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Montenegro, Netherlands, New Zealand, North Macedonia, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Republic of Korea, Republic of Moldova, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Türkiye, United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland, United States of America, as well as the European Union.

Countries condemn Russian propaganda and disinformation, with which the Russian Federation tries to justify its actions in Ukraine.

“The international community will hold Russia accountable for its aggression, and Russia must bear full responsibility for its unlawful actions in Ukraine.”

See also:  EU supports demilitarization of Ukraine’s nuclear plant and calls on Russia to withdraw its forces

Avatar photo


An independent media focused on Ukraine.
Follow us on social media:

Submit a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

Share This

Share this post with your friends!